The Nine Muses

Some years ago, having difficulty recalling all the Muses’ names and their respective activities, I thought to make an image of each as a memory aid. The Muses are almost never seen fully or directly, we only perceive the inspiration they might bestow. What media would best depict the invisible inspiration behind the various arts?

Scientifically speaking, white contains all the colors, so . . . light and shadow, on white paper! The images themselves derive from my interpretation of their domains. Here and over the next two weeks I’ll post three at a time, with a bit of detail. At the end I hope it will be obvious that when arranged in a particular order their essences can read as a fundamental story of the world.

Erato is the Muse of erotic poetry. 
Erato is the spark that ignites new life

Ourania is the Muse of astronomy. The name means “Heavenly One” or “Of Heaven” and is also an epithet of Aphrodite.

Terpsichore is the Muse of dance.  Terpsichorean still refers to dancing, or a person who dances.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Clga1950 says:

    Beautiful Graceful


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s